Towns in Ocean and Monmouth counties awarded $3.4 million in transportation trust fund grants

Towns in Ocean and Monmouth counties awarded $3.4 million in transportation trust fund grants

Ron Dancer

TRENTON, N.J. – All 14 municipalities in Assemblyman Ron Dancer’s 12th Legislative District will receive competitive municipal aid grants to finance road, bridge, safety and other improvements through the Transportation Trust Fund, the governor’s office announced Friday. Collectively, the N.J. Department of Transportation awarded Dancer’s district $3.4 million.

“The Transportation Trust Fund continues to be an important source of money to help municipalities modernize infrastructure,” Dancer (R-Ocean) said. “These grants go a long way in improving the safety and quality of life for all New Jerseyans. I’m pleased to know that every township and borough in my district will benefit from these funds.”

The grants are:

– Allentown Borough, sidewalk improvements, $232,600

– Chesterfield Township, Sykesville Road improvements, $175,000

– Englishtown Borough, Lasatta Avenue and Mount Vernon Road improvements, $212,800

– Jackson Township, North Roadway improvements, $286,000

– Manalapan Township, Taylors Mills Road improvements, $232,600

– Matawan Borough, Morristown Road improvements, $291,500

– Millstone Township, Millstone Road improvements, $251,900

– New Hanover Township, Hockamick Road improvements, $211,000

– North Hanover Township, Schoolhouse Road improvements, $155,000

– Old Bridge Township, Throckmorton Lane resurfacing, $425,270 (includes $42,338 urban allotment)

– Plumsted Township, drainage improvements, $378,000

– Roosevelt Borough, Tamara Drive improvements, $173,700

– Upper Freehold Township, Emleys Hill Road improvements, $251,900

– Wrightstown Borough, Platt Avenue, Francis Street and McGuire Street resurfacing, $165,000

The State Department of Transportation staff and independent municipal engineers reviewed 625 applications received from 547 municipalities across the state. NJDOT awarded a total of $161.25 million for FY2022 projects to 541 municipalities.