National organization names Dunn elected woman of excellence

National organization names Dunn elected woman of excellence

Left to right: National Federation for Women Legislators 2022 Women of Excellence honorees included: Florida State Sen. Gayle Harrell, New Jersey Assemblywoman Aura Dunn, Massachusetts State Rep. Jamie Zahlaway-Belsito and Oregon State Sen. Akasha Lawrence-Spence.

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Assemblywoman Aura Dunn is the sole New Jersey recipient of the National Federation for Women Legislators’ elected women of excellence award. She was honored at the organization’s 2022 conference in Charleston, South Carolina on Monday.

The award goes to women legislators who have worked tirelessly to serve their communities, broken down barriers and created an environment that encourages other females to hold public office.

“To be recognized among my peers as a leader who uplifts other women and fights for people not politics is incredibly rewarding,” Dunn (R-Morris) said. “As we see more women make the leap to public office, it makes me reflect on how far we have come and how much there is still to do. I’m grateful to be in a position where I’m not only inspired to serve every day, but where I can truly make a difference in the lives of New Jerseyans and future public servants.”

This year’s 39 winners were nominated by their colleagues and constituents from their home states, before being chosen by a distinguished panel of NFWL members.

“Part of the spirit of NFWL is that we take time to acknowledge the significant accomplishments of the hardworking and dedicated women around us, and we are delighted to recognize this year’s honorees,” said NFWL Executive Director Jody Thomas.

After a 25-year career in government and public affairs, Dunn became a New Jersey Assemblywoman in 2019 and was named assistant Republican whip in January 2022. After becoming a lawmaker, she founded the New Jersey Legislative Disability Caucus and was appointed to the Human Relations Council and Women’s Re-entry Commission.

NFWL is a nonpartisan, educational foundation for elected women on the state, county, and municipal levels.