DePhillips named “Legislator of the Year” by New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce

DePhillips named “Legislator of the Year” by New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce

Christopher P. DePhillips

TRENTON, N.J. – Assemblyman Christopher DePhillips was named Legislator of the Year by the New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce as part of its biannual Legislative and Business Awards recognition.

The Chamber awards legislators whose voting record, bill sponsorships, committee votes and overall history of supporting economic growth promote a favorable business climate in the Garden State.

“It’s an honor to be recognized by an organization whose values I share,” DePhillips (R-Bergen) said. “I’m extremely proud of my record. I have constantly worked to enhance our state’s business climate through cuts in taxes and spending. I look forward to continuing to work with the New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce to make our state a great place to start and run a business.”

DePhillips is co-chairman of the Assembly Republican tax cut caucus and a lead sponsor of several business-friendly bills, such as A3754, which would gradually lower the corporation business tax from 9% to 2.5%, and A115, which would repeal the surtax on some businesses.

“Assemblyman Christopher P. DePhillips has taken substantive action that has helped New Jersey’s economy persevere through one of the most difficult times in modern history,” said Tom Bracken, president and CEO of the New Jersey Chamber of Commerce. “This includes co-creating AnchorNJ, a statewide coalition of leaders from state institutions who are using their collective knowledge to help local economies recover from the pandemic. The New Jersey Chamber of Commerce is pleased to be part of this group.”

DePhillips added: “I look at my own children and want them to be able to choose to stay in New Jersey, where I have so many happy memories of growing up and raising a family. They can do that if there’s a strong and fair business-friendly climate. That has always been one of the driving forces behind my political career.”

The 2021 awards ceremony will take place Oct. 20 at Bell Works in Holmdel.