PARSIPPANY, N.J. – Assemblywoman BettyLou DeCroce sat down with Erika Shych of News 12 New Jersey on Friday about her bill that would make it illegal for anyone under 21 to possess an electronic smoking device in New Jersey. The bill would impose a $25 fine to anyone under 21 caught with an electronic smoking device.
“I don’t want to wait 20 years from now and all these young kids that are 10, 12, 13,14, up to 19, 20 years old, (and) we find out that the flavor and nicotine that their vaping is is going to kill them,” DeCroce said.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has blamed nicotine vaping devices for single-handedly driving a spike in tobacco use among teens, threatening to erase years of progress curbing youth use. The number of high school students using tobacco products, which include e-cigarettes, increased by about 38 percent, the CDC found in its annual National Youth Tobacco Survey released last month.
“I started looking at some of the instruments that are out there,” said DeCroce. “And the ones that look like USBs, if they are in a kids bookbag a parent isn’t even going to know.”
DeCroce hopes the bill will help parents stop their children from using electronic cigarettes altogether.
“(It) gives parents a tool to say to their minor child ‘look, it’s against the law if you have it in your possession,’” concluded DeCroce. “This will help some parents if they use it, and I hope they would.”